Jerry Jacob's Blog

Cheap & Cost Efficient Home Server

Posted in hack, Hobby, home server, pogoplug by jerlinworld on September 19, 2012

Heard about pogoplug? Pogoplug is a multimedia sharing device that lets you connect any external hard drive and then access and share your content over the internet. Basically this is a plug computer powered by an ARM processor. The model that I purchased, POGO-B01, is a 700 MHz Dual core processor with 128MB RAM.  There are 4 USB ports on this device and one Ethernet port. Since it is a plug computer, it uses very less electricity. I got it from J&R for less than $20.

I attached an external hard disk and used it for a couple of weeks, having my own pogoplug “storage cloud”. But pogoplug software had its own limitations while using it in the internal network. I decided to delete all the build in features and install archlinux OS and the tools that I need for my environment.

One of my main requirement was to have a common place to store all my files and share them easily between my computers in the house. I installed the Samba package and was able to setup a network attached storage (NAS). Now I wanted these files, mainly music files, pictures and videos, to be able to be accessed via my DLNA enabled Bluray player/ Television/ XBox.  This was achieved by installing the MiniDLNA Server. This was also a success except that the  client devices did not recognize/ encode some of those video files. I am still in search of some package that would work on this pogoplug device which can do on the fly transcoding .

You can also install “Cherokee” which is a very light weight Web Server, “Tor” which is an anonymous proxy network (Using the proxy is going to make your browsing experience very slow), “Flexget” which is a RSS torrent down loader…etc

You can get all the information regarding the whole procedure and step by step instructions from the website, http://archlinuxarm.org.

If you have any cool ideas on improving this archlinux home server, please let me know…….Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

